A A+ A++

The European Union deposited the instrument of approval of the “Istanbul Convention”

The European Union has ratified the Council of Europe Convention on preventing and combating violence against women and domestic violence (CETS No. 210), known as “Istanbul Convention”.

The ceremony took place at the Palais de l’Europe, in the presence of Secretary General Marija Pejčinović Burić, Ambassador Mårten Ehnberg, Permanent Representative of Sweden to the Council of Europe (Presidency-in-office of the Council of the European Union), and Helena Dalli, European Commissioner for Equality, have deposited the instrument of approval.

This historic treaty not only protects women from all forms of violence, but also paves the way for the creation of a European-wide legal framework to prevent, prosecute and eliminate violence against women and domestic violence.

As of the present moment, the treaty has been ratified by a total of 38 Parties, comprising 37 States and the European Union. The agreement has been duly acknowledged by all EU Member States and ratified by 21 of them, namely: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden.

On October 1, 2023, it will enter into force for the European Union, and it also establishes a specific monitoring mechanism, GREVIO, to ensure the effective implementation of its provisions.